Needles & Sins

By John Everson

Roses scented with bitter deception, Oracles redolent in hidden redemption, a body-mod-obsessed ingenue with an amputee fetish and a demon gone soft on a bitter angel. Dreamcatchers, an alternate Nativity with a pimp God and a non-compliant Mary, Stupid Bitch the three-legged cat and the secret explanation of how Germany almost won the war with the devil on their side. These are just a few of the provocative sets in these 19 stories rife with “Needles & Sins”…

Includes “Letting Go,” a Bram Stoker Award Finalist, as well as five stories that received Honorable Mentions in the Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror anthology series:  “Spirits Having Flown,” “The Beginning Was The End,” “The Strong Will Survive,” “Something Inside” and “You Never Got Used to the Needle.”

Originally published in 2007 on the groundbreaking Necro Publications, with the death of publisher David G. Barnett in 2021, Dark Arts Books reissued the collection preserving its original layout as much as possible.


Introduction by Charlee Jacob
Needles & Sins
Something Inside
The Strong Will Survive
The Beginning Was the End
Letting Go
The Char-Lee
Made For Each Other
Spirits Having Flown
Warming the Women
Green Green Glass
The Devil’s Platoon
Mutilation Street

Love & Sex & Rope & Screams: A Circus in Five Acts
And Then Some
After the Fifth Step
Birth and Death
You Never Got Used to the Needle
Irrelevant in Anathzebra

About the Author
Afterword (added to the 2021 edition)


ISBN: 979-8496367738
Release Date: 2021
(Dark Arts Books Edition)
Trade Paperback: 324 pages


Amazon »


Needles and Sins is a barnburner, the kind of book of horror shorts that will keep you up at night munching on chips and finishing just one more story the same way EverCrack had you finishing just one more quest…Most of it’s good. Some of it’s damn good. And some of it’s great.


Comments are closed.